Virginia Tech®home

People

Center for Coastal Studies at Virginia Tech logo in color

Center for Coastal Studies at Virginia Tech logo in color

Stay Connected:

    

     

     

At the heart of the Center for Coastal Studies is an interdisciplinary and growing network of more than 45 Virginia Tech faculty from nine of Virginia Tech’s Colleges:

- College of Agriculture & Life Sciences
- College of Architecture & Urban Studies
- College of Engineering
- College of Liberal Arts & Human Sciences
- College of Natural Resources & Environment

- College of Science
- Pamplin College of Business
- Virginia Agricultural Research and Extension Centers
- Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine

These faculty represent the strength and breadth of expertise essential for comprehensively addressing complex challenges in the coastal zone.

We invite members of the Virginia Tech community with interest in joining the Center to contact us.

Robert Weiss

Robert Weiss
Director
540-231-2334

Professor, Department of Geosciences, College of Science

 

Anamaria Bukvic

Anamaria Bukvic
Associate Director
540-231-2941

Assistant Professor, Department of Geography, College of Natural Resources & Environment

Jennifer Irish

Jennifer Irish
Associate Director
540-231-2298

Professor, The Charles E. Via, Jr. Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering

Marie Paretti

Marie Paretti

Marie Paretti
Associate Director
540-231-1812

Professor, Department of Engineering Education, College of Engineering

Liesel Ritchie

Liesel Ritchie
Associate Director
540-231-8320

Professor, Department of Sociology, College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences

Michael Schwarz

Michael Schwarz

Michael Schwarz
Associate Director
757-727-4861

Director, Virginia Seafood AREC

Sharon Stacy

Sharon Stacy

Sharon Stacy
Program Coordinator
540-231-8204

Fralin Life Sciences Institute

     

Affiliated Faculty

Sweta Baniya
Assistant Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Department of English

baniya@vt.edu

Transnational Disaster Response


Crisis Communications


Community Engagement

Shannon Bell
Assistant Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Sociology

sbell33@vt.edu
540-231-4445

Socio-political barriers to climate mitigation


Climate inequalities/injustice


Qualitative research methods

Sean Bemis
Research Scientist
College of Science
Geosciences

sbemis@vt.edu
540-231-5772

Active tectonics


Geomorphology


Drones and photogrammetry

Anamaria Bukvic
Assistant Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Geography

ana.bukvic@vt.edu
540-231-2941

Coastal Adaptation


Resilience


Relocation

Tanyel Bulbul
Associate Professor
College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Building Construction

tanyel@vt.edu
540-553-2140

Computational approaches


Building design


Construction

Ryan Calder
Assistant Professor of Environmental Health and Policy
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
Population Health Sciences

rsdc@vt.edu

Probabilistic Risk Assessment


Water Quality Modeling


Statistical Analysis

Leandro Castello
Associate Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

leandro@vt.edu
540-231-5046

Fish


Fisheries


Conservation

Maggie Cowell
Associate Professor
College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Urban Affairs and Planning

mmcowell@vt.edu
571-858-3118

Community resilience


Economic development


Regionalism

Tom Crawford
Professor, Department Chair of Geography
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Geography

tomc3@vt.edu
540-231-7216

Shoreline erosion


Vulnerability/resilience


Geospatial analysis

Ashley Dayer
Assistant Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

dayer@vt.edu
540-231-8847

Conservation social science


Private lands


Wildlife conservation

Xinwei Deng
Associate Professor
College of Science
Department of Statistics

xdeng@vt.edu
540-231-5638

Fisheries


Evolution


Mathematical modeling

Tina Dura
Assistant Professor
College of Science
Geosciences

tinadura@vt.edu
540-231-3785

Coastal paleoseismology


Prehistoric tsunamis


Diatom paleoecology

Francesco Ferretti
Assistant Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

ferretti@vt.edu
540-231-2893

Marine data science


Fisheries science


Marine ecology and conservation

Mark Ford
USGS VCFWRU Unit Leader
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

wmford@vt.edu
540-231-5927

Habitat Associations


Disturbance Ecology


Bats

James Fraser
Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

fraser@vt.edu
540-231-6064

Coastal ecology


Shorebirds and seabirds


Endangered species


Fernando Gonçalves
Research Scientist
Virginia Seafood Agricultural Research and Extension Center

ocfernando@vt.edu
(757) 900-9914

Economics


Fisheries and aquaculture


Sustainability

Stanley Grant
Professor, Co-Director of Occoquan Watershed Monitoring Laboratory
College of Enginering
Civil and Environmental Engineering

stanleyg@vt.edu
703-361-5606 x 142

Water Quality and Water Supply


Environmental Science and Engineering


Hydrology

Elizabeth Hunter
Assistant Professor
Assistant Unit Leader
USGS VA Cooperative Fish & Wildlife Research Unit

ehunter1@vt.edu
540-231-2298

Ecological modeling


Conservation of birds and reptiles


Decision making in habitat management and conservation

Jennifer Irish
Professor
College of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering

jirish@vt.edu
540-231-2298

Coastal engineering


Coastal hazards


Nature-based coastal infrastructure

Luke Juran
Associate Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Geography

ljuran@vt.edu
540-231-0265

Hazards


Disasters


Reconstruction

Sarah Karpanty
Associate Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

karpanty@vt.edu
540-231-4586

Endangered species conservation


Coastal avian ecology


Coastal management to benefit wildlife and human communities

Andrew Katz
Assistant Professor
College of Engineering
Department of Engineering Education

akatz4@vt.edu
540-231-9537

Engineering education


Environmental decision making


Social responsibility

Holly Kindsvater
Associate Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

hkindsvater@vt.edu
540-231-1169

Fisheries


Evolution


Mathematical modeling

David Knight
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
Engineering Education

dbknight@vt.edu
540-231-2563

Engineering/STEM education


Interdisciplinarity


Experiential learning

Roberto Leon

David H. Burrows Professor and Associate Department Head
Interim Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Studies
College of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering

rleon@vt.edu
540-231-7408

Seismic resilience


Performance-based design


Bridges

Ron Meyers

Associate Professor of Practice
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Fish and Wildlife Conservation

rbmeyers@vt.edu
540-570-9535

Social science


Renewable energy siting


Environmental policy

Klaus Moeltner
Professor
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Agricultural and Applied Economics

moeltner@vt.edu
540-231-8249

Harmful algal blooms


Coastal flood risks and housing markets


Offshore windfarms

Reza Ovissipour
Assistant Professor
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Department of Food Science and TechnologySeafood AREC

ovissi@vt.edu
757-727-4861

Sustainable food production systems


Covers food safety


Alternative proteins

Marie Paretti
Professor
College of Engineering
Engineering Education

mparetti@vt.edu
540-231-1812

Communication


Collaboration


Situated learning

Ryan Pollyea
Associate Professor
College of Science
Geosciences

rpollyea@vt.edu
540-231-7929

Groundwater and energy resources


Injection-induced earthquakes


Numerical modeling

Shyam Ranganathan
Assistant Professor
College of Science
Department of Statistics

shyam81@vt.edu

Statistics


Mathematical Modeling


Policy

Georg Reichard
Associate Professor
College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Building Construction

reichard@vt.edu
540-818-4603

Disaster resilience


Flood design (foundation walls)


Experimental testing

Mark Reiter
Director, Eastern Shore AREC
Professor and Extension Specialist
Virginia Agricultural Research and Extension Centers
School of Plant and Environmental Sciences

mreiter@vt.edu
757-807-6576

Nutrient Management


Soil Health


Production Agriculture

Megan Rippy
Assistant Professor
College of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering

mrippy@vt.edu
703-361-5606 x112

Ecosystem services


Green stormwater infrastructure


Coastal water quality

Liesel Ritchie
Professor
College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences
Sociology

liesel14@vt.edu
540-231-8320

Societal Dimensions of Hazards and Disasters


Community Resilience


Technological Hazards and Disasters

Todd Schenk
Associate Professor
College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Urban Affairs and Planning

tschenk@vt.edu
540-231-1803

Climate adaptation planning


Stakeholder engagement and collaborative governance


Serious games to support engagement and deliberation

Stephen Schoenholtz
Professor, Director of Virginia Water Resources Research Center
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Virginia Water Resources Research Center

schoenhs@vt.edu
540-231-0711

Land use impacts on water and soil quality


Watershed management


Water education

Michael Schwarz
Director of Virginia Seafood AREC
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Virginia Seafood AREC

mschwarz@vt.edu
757-727-4861

Sustainability


Food production systems


Biofuel

Peter Sforza
Director of Center for Geospatial Information Technology
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Center for Geospatial Information Technology

psforza@vt.edu
540-231-8935

Technology


Enterprise GIS


Environmental Applications of Remote Sensing

Yang Shao
Associate Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Geography

yshao@vt.edu
540-231-1867

Geospatial analytics


Land use/cover change


Decision support systems

Manoochehr Shirzaei
Associate Professor
College of Science
Geosciences

shirzaei@vt.edu
540-231-1867

Remote Sensing


Relative Sea-level Rise


Coastal Hazards

Julie Shortridge
Assistant Professor, Extension Specialist
College of Engineering
Biological Systems Engineering

jshortr1@vt.edu
540-231-2797

Climate change adaptation


Risk and decision analysis


Integrated systems modeling

Venkat Sridhar
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
Biological Systems Engineering

vsri@vt.edu
540-231-1797

Flood forecasting


Earth system modeling


Salinity impacts

Sarah Stamps
Associate Professor
College of Science
Geosciences

dstamps@vt.edu
540-231-3651

Subsidence


Numerical modeling


GPS

Nina Stark
Associate Professor
College of Engineering
Civil and Environmental Engineering

ninas@vt.edu
540-231-7152

Coastal engineering


Geotechnics


Erosion

Wade Thomason
Professor and Extension Specialist
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
School of Plant and Environmental Sciences

wthomaso@vt.edu
540-231-2988

Cropping Systems


Conservation Agriculture


Precision Agriculture

Jonathan van Senten
Assistant Professor, Extension Specialist
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Agricultural and Applied Economics

jonat86@vt.edu
757-727-4861

Aquaculture


Policy


Offshore wind

Cristina Watkins
Postdoctoral Associate
Virginia Seafood AREC

cwatkins20@vt.edu
757-900-9913

Social Science


Stakeholder preferences for aquaculture


Natural Resource Management

Robert Weiss
Professor
College of Science
Geosciences

weiszr@vt.edu
540-231-2334

Coastal hazards


Numerical simulations


Quantifying climate change impacts

Susanna Werth
Associate Research Professor
College of Science
Geosciences

swerth@vt.edu

Terrestrial hydrology


Hydrogeodesy


Signal processing

Randolph Wynne
Randolph H Wynne, Professor, Forest Res & Environ Conserv

Randolph Wynne
Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation

wynne@vt.edu
540-231-7811

Applications of remote sensing to forestry


Natural resource management


Ecological modeling

Yang Zhang
Associate Professor
College of Architecture and Urban Studies
Urban Affairs and Planning

yang08@vt.edu
540-231-1128

Disaster recovery


Hazards mitigation


Floodplain management

Stephanie Zick
Assistant Professor
College of Natural Resources and Environment
Geography

sezick@vt.edu
540-231-3434

Hurricanes


Rainfall


Weather forecast models

Christopher Zobel
R. B. Pamplin Professor
Pamplin College of Business
Business Information Technology

czobel@vt.edu
540-231-1856

Disaster resilience


Supply chain resilience


Humanitarian operations management